Bruckner Symphony No. 5 in Bb Major
Mahler Lieder eines fahrenden gesselen
Concert on August 19, 1951 in Salzburg

Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra - 1951

This is a great Bruckner 5. Extremely well played. The tempos are slower than in Berlin 1942 except for the Adagio. Strange. It has good sound as well. Furtwängler was lucky with the recordings of this symphony. We now have all the complete Bruckner symphonies remastered. I have no doubt in my mind that Furtwängler was as good a Bruckner conductor as Beethoven conductor.

The Mahler is excellent in every way.

We encourage you to also browse through the rest of our collection, including recordings from the creator of this website and remasters Eduardo Chibás, the renowned pianist Artur Schnabel and other historical directors